Author Topic: Opinions on Mahler No.2  (Read 7332 times)

squonk76

Opinions on Mahler No.2
« on: April 16, 2007, 09:10:48 PM »
Hello there,
       I'm relatively new to Mahler's Symphonic cycle and I must say that the 2nd Symphony packs a particularly solid punch.  Now I've heard so much raving about Mehta's Decca recording from '75 and Bernstein's recording from his second cycle in the 80s that I went and bought them both...and wow what a difference!  Two entirely different experiences...right now I am partial to the taught nature of the Mehta reading although the Bernstein reading has a transcendent and ethereal quality that is rather remarkable.  So, I am curious as to what others think of these readings and to name any other readings that equal or surpass these in power and emotional gravity?  Let the opinions fly.  Thanks!

Offline Damfino

Re: Opinions on Mahler No.2
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 02:32:30 AM »
Well, you could not have started with two more different recordings!  I daresay i tend to share your preference for the Mehta approach over Bernstein's.  I like the 2nd to be really intense and almost bitter in the first 3 movements.  As I am a Mahler 2nd junkie, I have bought and resold more recordings than I care to mention.  I used to own both of the ones you mention, but I no longer do. 

There are so many things that really have to work in order for me to like a recording of the 2nd.  I guess I keep buying recordings in the hope that I will get "THE one".  I do not like the 1st funeral march movement to drag.  BOTH soloists have to be good.  Many recordings get a good alto, but settle for a soprano that is forced.  And I like to hear the organ at the end.  Many recordings excel in one or two areas, but fail in another.