Author Topic: Mahler 2 on DVD - Haitink, Boulez, Bernstein  (Read 9055 times)

Offline John F

Mahler 2 on DVD - Haitink, Boulez, Bernstein
« on: September 30, 2008, 05:32:55 PM »
Hi everyone. 

This is my first post though I read through the threads regularly.  I'm not a Mahler expert by any means but I was introduced to his music several years back (it was the Fourth - the slow movement was what captured me, at the time I didn't care for the finale, though).  Since then, some of his symphonies I still struggle to appreciate (i.e. Six, Seven and Eight) while others I love, especially (lately) the Second.  I've acquired a few recordings - I really enjoy Gielen's - both the recorded sound and the interpretation to give you an idea of my taste although I think I find more to enjoy than not in recordings of this work. 

I caught the tail-end of a performance on PBS a while ago (may have been Slatkin conducting) and now I think I'd like to see a perfomance on video - I've got a birthday gift card just burning a hole in my pocket.  Brings me to my question:  I notice recordings on DVD by Boulez, Abbado, Bernstein and Haitink.  Based on what I've read here, I think I'm sold on the Boulez (and will avoid the Abbado) but I'd appreciate some guidance on the last two.  I prefer a video in which the orchestra dominates with appropriate spot-lighting of various sections - not endless footage of the conductor (may rule out Bernstein, I don't know).  You also get a couple other works on Haitink and Bernstein too.

Any help on the video, sonics and interpretation is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
John

Offline Damfino

Re: Mahler 2 on DVD - Haitink, Boulez, Bernstein
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2008, 08:54:46 PM »
I have three of the four you mention, and I used to have a Bernstein version on laserdisc. It has been so long since I have heard/seen it, I cannot really comment on it.