Author Topic: RCO Jansons M1 Live  (Read 7801 times)

Offline Phaedrus

• non multa scire scio
RCO Jansons M1 Live
« on: March 15, 2007, 09:50:58 PM »
Hello everyone,

As a newbie here, I figured it would be nice to start off my very first contribution with a first impression of Jansons RCO M1, available in stores in Holland since this week. It's a live recording of August 28 and November 17, 2006 at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam.

Timings: 15:55, 7:59, 10:41, 19:59 which makes for a total playing time of  54:47

As compared to RCO Chailly 1996 M1:
Timings: 16:32, 8:22, 10:58, 21:00 tpt 57:20

And Bertini's KRS M1
Timings: 15:46, 7:24, 10:46, 20:36 tpt 54:32

First impressions: Awesome sound quality, IMO best so far on the RCO Live label. Jansons goes to extreme lengths to make every part heard. Superb clarity too. I'll give it a serious spin this weekend and am really excited about it.

Also picked up these two:
Gliere Symf. 3 Ilya Muromets / BBC Phil / Edward Downes

Schumann/Mahler Symf 2 & 4 Gewandhaus Chailly
Listened to this one through crappy phones at the store and wasn't quite impressed. Heard parts of it on the car radio though and was taken aback. Stunning! It'll be next on my CD player after M1 this weekend.

Greetings from the Netherlands!

Phaedrus

non multa scire scio

Wunderhorn

Re: RCO Jansons M1 Live
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 11:03:51 PM »
Wow, Holland! I own the Bertini M1 and thought the strings in the opening of the finale too slow perhaps. The Chailly with RCO I thought one of the best in his cycle. Jansons surely is paying allot of attention to Mahler of recent, His M6 on the RCO label is now available in The States, though I am curious with Eschenbach's and Fischer's receiving rave reviews, it is worth the price of admition? I just bought Karajan M5 and M6, after having fallen in love with his digital M9.

Offline Phaedrus

• non multa scire scio
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2007, 11:14:53 PM »
Hello Wunderhorn,