Author Topic: M2 and more  (Read 7931 times)

Offline merlin

• Evening Sun
M2 and more
« on: February 15, 2012, 08:07:16 PM »
In many ways, I am a relative beginner with respect to Mahler.  I am on my third traversal of his symphonies, the previous one a bit over three years ago, and have read a biography.

But this time, I am far more captivated and moved.  My current cycle has already gone on more than two months.  I have listened to the works several times, and M2, 3, 6, and 9 about a dozen.

I have little or no interest in reading interpretations of what the music might mean, and am not drawn to following a score nor timings of various movements. What engages me are my responses whilst listening to the music, whether frissons, emotions, thoughts, or images. 

So, having listened to my three versions of M2 over the past three evenings, decided to rate them, and ask for suggestions of others that might be as enjoyable.

Sound quality:  Fischer/BFO = 10 (SACD 2-channel), Bernstein/DG = 8/9, Bertini = 7/8.

Interpretation:  Fischer = 8, Bertini = 9, Bernstein = far more than 10.  As far as I am concerned, his are head and shoulders above any others, for all of the symphonies.

Yeah, I know he does not follow the letter of the scores, but for me, this is completely irrelevant.  His versions move me more deeply than any others I have heard, and I can easily imagine that this is how Mahler would perform these works today.

But I am certainly open to listening to other interpretations.

On another note, with the occasional exception of Der Abschied, I do not care for his songs.  I also abhor opera, other than perhaps a few arias.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you will be motivated to suggest other versions of M2, and the others, that might be as moving and captivating as Bernstein.

N.B. Here are versions I have listened to, in addition to M2. 
Bernstein M1-M7/DG remastered
Bertini M1-M9+M10 Adagio
M3 - Horenstein
M4 - Maazel
M6 - Barbirolli, Zinman (SACD)