Author Topic: So, I just Listened to the Maazel/NYPO M5...  (Read 5374 times)

Offline Michael

• Adagio Appassionato, Addolorato A Niente
    • My Railroad Audio Recordings
So, I just Listened to the Maazel/NYPO M5...
« on: April 05, 2010, 08:09:52 AM »
Hello everyone,

Well, I listened to Mahler's Fifth in its entirety last night.  I have a couple recordings of this work already but thought I would purchase the Lorin Maazel/New York Philharmonic recording.  I have talked to Maazel personally on Facebook a couple of months ago, and as silly as it may sound, I have been somewhat partial towards his recordings ever since.
Before I give my impressions...a word of warning.  This is my first time listening to M5 in its entirety, so I really do not have any previous experience to compare it to.  So if someone more experienced with this recording and/or this work has any corrections, please, go right ahead.

I have heard the funeral march under a couple of others--mainly Bernstein and Dudamel--and I get the feeling that Maazel takes this a bit faster.  I especially like the center passage where he really lets the orchestra loose.  Then we are back to the funeral march again and I applaud Maazel for bring out other details besides the strings.  (Yes, I know there are other instruments playing besides the strings, but in this recording they are especially noticeable.)
The second movement, for me at least, opened too slowly; my main issue with the opening though is that the orchestra does not sound "harsh" enough.  The strings do not have that crunching growl and the brass in their answer to the opening A-B-C-B-A's from the low strings also do not have the fire that I have heard in other recordings.
With that out of the way, I was really able to notice the connection between the first and second movements, which is something I have never really been able to clearly tell in Mahler's music before.