Author Topic: Casella Symphony #2  (Read 10821 times)

Offline ggl

Casella Symphony #2
« on: June 27, 2010, 04:43:14 PM »
Mahler was a great composer, but there are only nine (or ten or eleven, depending on how you count) Mahler symphonies.  It would be nice if there were more, but there aren't.  So when I saw online reviews of Alfredo Casella's Second Symphony, I was motivated to purchase it. 

See http://www.classicalsource.com/db_control/db_cd_review.php?id=8292

and

http://www.classicalmusicsentinel.com/KEEP/keep-casella-sym2.html

The second reviewer points out that Casella's "real passion was for the music of Gustav Mahler. Upon their meeting in 1909, Casella informed Mahler that he knew all his symphonies 'by heart'."

I am not a musician, and have no expertise that would qualify me to review the recording.  But I will say that, though Casella's Second Symphony is not, as evidenced by this recording, on the level of Mahler's symphonies, it's really pretty good.  Casella clearly was directly inspired by Mahler's symphonies; he uses gestures that are familiar from Mahler. (And this is not necessarily a bad thing -- consider how Mahler appropriated musical ideas from Hans Rott.)  Casella was, like Mahler, a superb orchestrator.  The CD is well-recorded, though the complex orchestration (including bells and organ) likely would be better served by SACD.  The thematic materials do not sound like Mahler; Casella has his own voice.  In some ways this symphony reminds me of Shostakovich, but I find it more enjoyable than the Shostakovich symphonies I know.  (I tend to agree with Boulez's view that Shostakovich is like "third-pressing Mahler.")