Author Topic: New Mahler Symphony No. 9 World Premier Recording! (USA Premier Performance)  (Read 7014 times)

Offline CalebWY

Hello everyone!
My name is Caleb Young and I'm a graduate student in conducting at the Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington, Indiana. We are working on recording a World Premier CD of a wonderful arrangement of Mahler's 9th Symphony by Klaus Simon. We will also be performing the USA Premier of this arrangement.

Please check out our Kickstarter for me info! Also feel free to leave any questions you have!

Help make this wonderful music come alive!

Best,

Caleb

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/64714394/kammermahler-premier-recording-project

Offline waderice

This is getting interesting.  We have the Kaplan chamber arrangement of M2, and will soon have M9.  This probably leaves the rest of the symphonies and DLvdE open to be given chamber treatment.  Wonder how things will turn out when someone attempts a chamber arrangement of M8?  One singer for each sung line in the three choruses in addition to the 8 soloists?

This is in essence, a process in reverse, when in the late 19th and 20th centuries, choruses became bigger and orchestras were enlarged with non-Handelian instruments to perform bloated versions of Messiah.

Wade
« Last Edit: March 05, 2014, 02:48:14 AM by waderice »

Offline James Meckley

This is getting interesting.  We have the Kaplan chamber arrangement of M2, and will soon have M9. This probably leaves the rest of the symphonies and DLvdE open to be given chamber treatment.

Of course we already have multiple recordings of the chamber versions of M4 and DLvdE.

James
"We cannot see how any of his music can long survive him."
Henry Krehbiel, New York Tribune obituary of Gustav Mahler

Offline waderice

James,

Who did the chamber arrangements of M4 and DLvdE?  Who did recordings of these (which I haven't seen or heard of)?

Thanks, Wade

Offline James Meckley