Author Topic: Levine M8  (Read 5063 times)

Offline waderice

Levine M8
« on: June 20, 2010, 07:05:47 PM »
I'm not looking to launch a discussion of the merits or downfalls of Levine performing the M8, but a friend going through and inventorying a huge cache of classical recordings for a recently-deceased aficionado found a live M8 performance conducted by James Levine with the NYPO, along with the Westminster Choir, and featuring Carol Neblett, Kathleen Battle, Lili Chookasian, Kenneth Riegel and Donald McIntyre, to name some of the soloists.  He asked me if I have any idea as to the date this performance took place.  I say sometime in the mid-1970's.  Can anyone provide the exact date?  Thanks!

Wade

Offline sbugala

Re: Levine M8
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 04:19:19 AM »
I'm a librarian at a public library, so I used a database we have called ProQuest that lets me look at old newspaper articles from the New York Times. I found an review from Oct 11, 1976 with Levine leading the New York Philharmonic in the M8. I can't cut and paste it, since it's in a PDF. Overall, the critic, Peter G Davis praises it. But he does mention that the first movement was "taken at such a furious pace that many passages simply sounded garbled. Then, too, several of the soloists were occasionally defeated by the demands of the vocal lines and the conductor's tempos." Curiously, there's nothing mentioned at all about the performance/interpretation of the  second movement. Who knows, maybe space was limited. You'd think that back then, it would have warranted more space.

If you have some other things, let me know, and I'll use the database to give you an idea when the concert happened.

Offline GL

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2010, 12:56:02 PM »
The Eight you are speaking about was part of a Mahler Festival held during the 1976/77 Season of the New York Philharmonic.

It was broadcast on October, 9, 1976 and, according to my source, a copy should exist.

Place: Carnegie Hall