Author Topic: Symphony as 'ultimate' form in music?  (Read 3774 times)

Wunderhorn

Symphony as 'ultimate' form in music?
« on: May 10, 2007, 08:03:55 PM »
I'm curious how important the Symphony is to the people on this sight. I've gotten into all the famous symphonists, and even contemporary ones by Glass. I'm not sure exactly how relevent or important it is to those on this sight what the symphony actually means, and if it was Beethoven who first truly gave birth to the form. To me, many of the French of the 19th and 20th centuries didn't obsessed over the form, more because it was coined an Austro-Germanic idea. Then why didn't this stop Dvorak and Tchaikovsky and many many others? To me I see it, in the end, as trying to make since of a whole thing that is typically in sections. Schenker's theory of harmony and tonal theory, in general, though I'm not aware of its complexities as I am not a musician. It is something to the degree that somehow all music from a piece is related to the tonic of its beginning key, even under Wagnerian complexities and modulations. Often many similarities can be found in the movements. In Bruckner's 8th, one of the most beautiful things I have found, is how the Scherzo relates to the opening movement. Mahler 2nd and 3rd appear like twins, as Scherzo material is brought back in the finally. To me, exactly how the composer can twist and bend the material into a whole form that essentially gives a certain music character to the tonic 'subjets' of the original key borders on an almost ultra obsession. When I here Sibelius's 5th and how he did this in particular, reminds me of how his orchestral color is twice that of Debussy, with a finale as maybe the most brilliant music ever written. I am less intrested in tone-poems, as this particular concern for form isn't present; They are more as a long piano prelude.

Offline barry guerrero

Re: Symphony as 'ultimate' form in music?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 06:56:17 AM »