Author Topic: Symphony Boxset recommendations?  (Read 5429 times)

Wunderhorn

Symphony Boxset recommendations?
« on: May 10, 2007, 09:30:45 PM »
I have been listening to only Mahler for about 6 months now, and have become far more knowledgable of his music. It was a type of study process for me. I'm going to have money coming to me soon, and need some recommendations on Boxsets, not exclusively Mahler's. I've own several for many symphonists. I'm curious of the Gielen Mahler set because I read a 10/10 review, which said it was the best on the market. I'm also looking for some Sibelius, Bruckner, and Schubert sets, but any symphonists set will do, if you have recommendations?

Offline Roland Flessner

Re: Symphony Boxset recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 03:59:43 AM »
Unless some of the earlier recordings were redone for the box set, Gielen's   Mahler was recorded over a large time span. The orchestra is serviceable but not at the top level, and the engineering varies a bit. Generally I like Gielen's conducting. I haven't heard all of these, but I do like #6 and #2 is outstanding.

I'd avoid Solti. The CSO is excellent but he often conducts with little comprehension of Mahler.

I'm a big Kubelik fan. I often disagree with his interpretations, but his passion for the music is persuasive. The sound shows its age, but despite being dry the counterpoint is very clear. Antiphonally divided violins are always welcome in Mahler, and Kubelik uses this seating pattern throughout the set.

As for other composers, take a look at the Brilliant Classics label. They have a number of very inexpensive sets, some of which are as good as anything in the catalog. Check out some web reviews (such as Arkiv Music) for titles that interest you.

Good luck!

Offline sperlsco

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 03:46:16 PM »