Author Topic: How did'ya discover Mahler?  (Read 62820 times)

Offline Leo K

• You're the best Angie
How did'ya discover Mahler?
« on: May 12, 2007, 12:04:04 AM »
For me it was listening to Bernstein's Harvard Lecture series on LP in 1987 or so...but it wasn't until I ordered Kaplan's M2 in 1989 that I first heard a full symphony...I didn't know what to think at first, as this work seemed classical, romantic and modern and even post-modern in one package...nothing seemed to tie together at all.  Bernstein, Karajan and Abbado were my main introductions to the other symphonies in 1990...after hearing Karajan's M6 and Chailly's M10 I became obsessed beyond measure.  In 1995 De Waart's live M7 revealed the utter excitement of hearing this music live...I was a newbie and was quite impressed by the packed concert hall in Minneapolis...during the concert I was impressed by the orchestral effects during the scherzo and the loud brassy banging finale. 

« Last Edit: May 12, 2007, 12:12:05 AM by Leo K »

Offline barry guerrero

Re: How did'ya discover Mahler?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2007, 03:54:22 AM »