Author Topic: OT: Blomstedt CSO Eroica  (Read 3315 times)

Offline Roland Flessner

OT: Blomstedt CSO Eroica
« on: March 03, 2018, 06:30:21 AM »
Last night I heard Herbert Blomstedt lead the CSO in Mozart 39 and Beethoven's Eroica. These were lively performances, with tightly sprung rhythms, and the precision of the orchestra was astonishing. The orchestra played with all the power this piece demands, yet remained transparent throughout. I'd be reluctant to hear another live Eroica any time soon because I can't imagine it could measure up to this one.

With two asterisks: The oboist came in a bar early in his second entrance in the scherzo, but seemed to realize his mistake immediately and recovered as gracefully as possible. Then, probably due to the acoustic reflector suspended over the orchestra, I found the horns unusually prominent throughout. I didn't mind, because I heard a lot of details I hadn't noticed before (and I've been listening to this symphony for 50 years). From the podium, they were probably more recessed. The reflector acts like a huge microphone when you're sitting in the balconies.

During the applause at the end, Blomstedt walked into the orchestra and shook hands with as many musicians as he could reach, including the errant oboist. I thought that a classy move.

Offline barryguerrero

Re: OT: Blomstedt CSO Eroica
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018, 04:54:44 PM »
"Blomstedt walked into the orchestra and shook hands with as many musicians as he could reach, including the errant oboist. I thought that a classy move"

That's why he's still greatly loved in S.F.  I know from my own experiences that he's a "classy" guy.

Offline sbugala

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 05:33:55 AM »
I’m glad you got to hear him conduct. I really admire him as a musician.

Offline AZContrabassoon

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2018, 02:28:59 PM »